Mersey

The Mersey region provides valuable support for regional Royal College of Physicians (RCP) activities, and is supported by a regional office based in Liverpool.

Mersey regional advisors provide a local point of contact for RCP fellows and members, and work in partnership with college tutors and colleagues to facilitate the two-way exchange of information from the RCP to the region. They play an important role in offering support to local fellows and members, approving job descriptions, taking part in the scoring of clinical excellence awards and granting continuing professional development approval.

In addition to this work, the Mersey region also runs regular monthly teach-ins and 1-day conferences.

Regional office

Regional manager
Katy Kernohan
Email: Katy.Kernohan@rcplondon.ac.uk

Deputy regional manager
Edward Rigby
Email: Edward.Rigby@rcplondon.ac.uk

Royal College of Physicians
William Henry Duncan Building
6 West Derby Street
Liverpool
L7 8TX

Tel: +44 (0)151 794 9191
Email: mersey@rcplondon.ac.uk

Office opening hours: 9am–4pm, Monday–Friday.

Approval of job descriptions

For the approval of job descriptions please contact your regional manager. Further information and guidance on job planning is available from Advisory Appointments Committees (AAC).

Regional advisers

Dr Mike Beadsworth
Royal Liverpool University Hospital
Prescot Street
Liverpool
L7 8XP

Email: Mike.Beadsworth@rlbuht.nhs.uk

Dr Claire Cullen
University Hospital Aintree
Lower Lane
Liverpool
L9 7AL

Email: Claire.Cullen@aintree.nhs.uk

Dr Rachael Ellks
Abacus Sexual and Reproductive Health
The Beat 
6 David Lewis Street
Liverpool
L1 4AP

Email: rellks@nhs.net

School of medicine

The RCP has supported the creation of specialty-based schools of medicine within each deanery, which will supervise trainees within basic medical training and all 30 higher specialist training programmes.