Home » People » Professor Mitchell Rosner

Professor Mitchell Rosner

Associate global director for the Americas

Professor Mitchell Rosner is the Henry B. Mulholland professor of medicine and chair of the Department of Medicine at the University of Virginia. He has served in this role since 2009. He is also the deputy education director for the International Society of Nephrology.

His clinical practice focus is the medical care of patients with all forms of kidney disease, from acute kidney injury to end-stage kidney disease. He has a passion for education and has been honoured with several awards including the All-University of Virginia Award for Education and the Master Educator award from the University of Virginia School of Medicine. He has served various times as fellowship programme director in nephrology and as associate director of the internal medicine residency programme. His work in education has been recognised by the American College of Physicians with its 2008 Evergreen award. He has also been recognised by the United States Department of State for the development of joint collaborative education and research efforts between the University of Virginia and San Bortolo Hospital (Vicenza, Italy) and the University of Padova (Padua, Italy).

His research interests include the pathogenesis and management of disorders of sodium and water balance, the treatment of polycystic kidney disease, quality improvement in peritoneal dialysis, and the development of novel therapeutics for acute kidney injury. Most recently, he has chaired an international consortium that is defining toxins that accumulate in uremic syndrome. He has participated in over 12 pivotal clinical trials devoted to various aspects of kidney disease. Mitchell has published over 200 research and reviews articles in peer-reviewed medical journals such as the New England Journal of Medicine. In 2019, he was awarded one of the highest honours in nephrology, the Robert Narins award for lifetime contributions to nephrology by the American Society of Nephrology. He was also awarded the 2019 International Vicenza award for his contributions to critical care nephrology.