MSc in Medical Leadership - guest speaker biographies

Read biographies from guest speakers who are delivering a talk on the MSc in Medical Leadership in the next academic year. Students on the course benefit from hearing about the guest speakers experience as a leader and how their career as a leader has developed.

Professor David Oliver

David is the clinical vice president of the Royal College of Physicians – the senior elected officer leading work on clinical quality. In addition to his day job as a consultant geriatrician and acute general physician at the Royal Berkshire Hospital, he is a senior visiting fellow at the King’s Fund, past president of the British Geriatrics Society, former Department of Health national clinical director for older people, and visiting professor at City University, London. He writes a weekly freelance column for the BMJ and professionally for other publications. He has led services and directorates as a consultant in two trusts. He has personally benefited from master’s degrees in health leadership and health management.

Mr Peter Lees

Chief executive and medical director, FMLM

Peter is the chief executive and medical director of the intercollegiate UK Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management.

Over 20 years, he combined a career in neurosurgery with senior roles in operational management and leadership development. This included experience at local, regional and national levels and in global health. He was formerly medical director, director of workforce and education, and director of leadership at NHS South Central Strategic Health Authority, and senior lecturer in neurosurgery at the University of Southampton.

He is a graduate of the University of Manchester and the University of Southampton, a fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons of England and a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of London.

Terence Stephenson

Chair of Council and registrant member, England

Professor Stephenson was formerly chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges for 2012-2014 and president of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health 2009-2012. He is also Nuffield Professor of Child Health at the Institute of Child Health, University College London and co-director of the Children’s Policy Research Unit. He has been elected an honorary fellow of eleven colleges or academies, in the UK, Ireland, Hong Kong and Australia. Professor Stephenson was formerly Dean of the Medical School and Professor of Child Health at the University of Nottingham, and a non-executive director of Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

He is an honorary consultant in paediatrics at UCL Hospital and Great Ormond Street Hospital London and has co-authored seven textbooks. His research has mainly been in physiology of early life and acute and chronic paediatric illness and he has published over 275 peer reviewed papers, editorials and chapters. As a researcher, he has received over £8m in funding.

Mr Niall Dickson has long been a senior figure in the world of health and care. He was the editor of the Nursing Times in the 1980s before joining the BBC and becoming social affairs editor. Niall was chief executive of the King’s Fund for several years and then moved to the General Medical Council where he was chief executive and registrar. He became chief executive of the NHS Confederation in February 2017 and was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

Dr Clare Gerada was the first female chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) in 50 years. Clare has a long involvement with the RCGP; she was previously vice chair of College Council and is immediate past chair of the Ethics Committee and established the RCGP’s ground breaking Substance Misuse Unit. In 2008, she won the contract to run the Practitioner Health Programme, a pioneering programme providing confidential services to doctors and dentists with mental health or addiction problems.

Professor Dorothy Keefe is the clinical ambassador for the Transforming Health initiative in South Australia, professor of cancer medicine at the University of Adelaide, and a senior medical oncologist at Royal Adelaide Hospital Cancer Centre.