Candidates announced for 2018 RCP presidential election

The Royal College of Physicians (RCP) is delighted to announce the candidates who will be standing in the 2018 presidential election. Voting will open for RCP fellows in the week commencing 19 February 2018.

The RCP's presidential election will be contested in 2018 as Professor Jane Dacre will have completed the recommended 4-year term and so will not be standing.

Election candidates

Nomination papers were distributed to RCP fellows in October 2017 and nine fellows have been nominated to stand for election. In alphabetical order, they are:

  • David Cohen
  • Anita Donley
  • John Firth
  • Jonathan Friedland
  • Andrew Goddard
  • Margaret Johnson
  • Terence Kemple
  • David Oliver
  • Ashley Woodcock.

Council has agreed the provisions that will be made for the candidates to present their cases for election. Canvassing is not allowed and so a variety of material provided by the candidates will be sent out to RCP fellows with the voting papers in the week commencing 19 February 2018, and will also be made accessible online.

Voting process

As in previous elections, fellows will be able to vote in person at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 26 March 2018, or by post or online beforehand. The election process will be conducted independently on behalf of the RCP by Electoral Reform Services.

The result of the election will be announced at the AGM and the new president will be installed, 'give faith' and be given the insignia of office at the last fellowship election ceremony of the year. This means that Professor Dacre will preside over the RCP's 500th anniversary celebrations on 23 September, and the new president will take over on Wednesday 26 September 2018.