Home » News » New lay trustees appointed to Royal College of Physicians Board of Trustees

New lay trustees appointed to Royal College of Physicians Board of Trustees

The Royal College of Physicians (RCP) has appointed five new lay trustees and a lay observer to its board bringing a breadth of experience from numerous sectors including healthcare, corporate governance, finance, fundraising and technology.

The new lay board members, who were appointed in June 2023, are:

  • Anne Marie Millar, a qualified accountant and experienced finance director with experience operating at board level for a number of complex and large public sector organisations in the health, transport and environment sectors.
  • Dominic Whittle, a procurement and occupational health professional who until Autumn 2022 formed part of the Bank of England’s leadership team as head of property and procurement and security division.
  • Dr Fiona Pathiraja, an international healthtech investor, philanthropist and women’s advocate who is managing partner at Crista Galli Ventures.
  • Professor John Bateson, a visiting professor of management at the Bayes Business School, University of London who was previously chief executive of SHL a global psychological testing company listed on the London Stock Exchange.
  • Katie Smith, a qualified lawyer with experience advising at board level on corporate governance, commercial contracting and technology and operational matters.
  • Patrick Lowther, an experienced property advisor with experience in delivering healthcare infrastructure to support growing system demands. Patrick is a lay observer.

Through their sector-leading advice, the appointments will work to continue the modernisation of the RCP’s governance practices, help deliver on its charitable purpose and further the college’s commitment to implementing the Summerskill report recommendations.

In addition to the new appointments, the RCP board has also reappointed leading expert on health and social care Professor David Croisdale-Appleby as chair. Professor Croisdale-Appleby, who was first appointed in June 2019 as the RCP’s first lay chair in its 500-year history, has played a pivotal role in guiding the RCP's strategic direction over the past four years.

Commenting on the appointments, Dr Sarah Clarke, president of the Royal College of Physicians, said: “We are delighted to welcome our new lay trustees and announce the reappointment of David as chair. Their breadth of expertise will be invaluable as we continue to shape the future of healthcare and further support physicians both in the UK and globally.

"The RCP is unwavering in its mission to influence healthcare design and delivery, promote good public health, and support physicians in reaching their full potential. With the addition of our new lay trustees, we are confident that their expertise will help us continue to navigate the complex challenges of the healthcare landscape and further our commitment to improving patient care."

The board of trustees serves as the RCP’s governing body as a registered charity. It meets four times a year to oversee the RCP’s strategy and monitor the progress of its affairs to ensure effective custody of its assets while furthering the interests of its more than 40,000-strong membership.

Alongside the lay trustees, the board comprises senior officers of the RCP and members nominated from RCP Council.