Home » News » Nominations open for RCP Excellence in Patient Care Awards 2020

Nominations open for RCP Excellence in Patient Care Awards 2020

Entries are now being accepted for the Royal College of Physicians' (RCP's) member-exclusive Excellence in Patient Care Awards (EPCA) 2020, which will recognise, celebrate and reward the hard work done by physicians and healthcare teams in the UK and globally.

Now in its fifth year, the EPCA 2020 will celebrate our members’ projects and case studies with the following nine award categories:

  • Digital award
  • Innovation award
  • International award
  • Medical education and training award
  • Person-centred care award
  • Quality improvement award
  • Research award
  • Welfare and wellbeing award
  • Contribution to the profession award (nomination only).

All subscribing members of the RCP are eligible to enter or be nominated. With team entries, at least one person needs to be a subscribing member of RCP London. We’d especially like to welcome entries from our medical student and physician associate members, particularly in the new ‘Digital’ and ‘Welfare and wellbeing’ categories, as this member benefit has now been extended to these membership categories.

What you can win

The winner of each EPCA category will receive £1,000, a commemorative plaque and promotion of their project by the RCP.

How to enter

To enter the EPCA 2020, submit an abstract of your project or case study, or nominate a colleague for the ‘Contribution to the profession award’, before 5pm on 2 December 2019.

Teams and individuals included in the longlist will be contacted via email in mid-January 2020. Unfortunately, due to the volume of entries received we will only be able to contact those entrants who have been longlisted.

For more details and information on the EPCA timeline and entry process, see the dedicated EPCA FAQ webpage.

Find out more about the EPCA 2019 winners

Here's a sneak peak of what to expect if you're shortlisted.