RCP Excellence in Patient Care Awards

The RCP's Excellence in Patient Care Awards aim to recognise, celebrate and promote the work that physicians do to improve patient care through education, policy, clinical practice and research.

Listen to the 2018 winners and finalists explain why you should enter the Excellence in Patient Care Awards for the chance to be recognised for the great work you are doing.

The winners of the 2019 awards were revealed in a dedicated ceremony held at the RCP in May.

Award categories

Our categories are:

  • international
  • innovation
  • medical education and training
  • person-centred care
  • The Lancet research award 
  • quality improvement
  • contribution to the profession – trainee or SAS doctor (nomination only)
  • contribution to the profession – consultant (nomination only).

How to enter

Applications for the 2020 awards will open in autumn 2019.


Award winners receive:

  • £1,000
  • a commemorative plaque
  • promotion of their winning project by the RCP.