Home » Library

Library

The RCP provides library services to support fellows, members and students to meet their professional development and educational goals.

Opening hours and study space

The library service supports the delivery of RCP courses. Its study space and physical collection are available to RCP course students and RCP members. The library is located on the second floor of House 11, St Andrews Place.

We are open Monday to Friday 9:30am - 4:30pm (except for bank holidays).

The library is a multi-purpose space used for studying, research and teaching. The library will be closed to researchers, students and members on teaching days. Online services will still be available and you will be able to contact the team via email and telephone email: library@rcp.ac.uk or phone: 020 3075 1490.

Please contact the library team in advance of your visit to ensure space is available for your visit. You will find our currently open and closed days below:

October

The library will be closed for teaching on:

  • Monday 2 October – Friday 6 October 2023
  • Tuesday 10 October – Friday 13 October 2023
  • Monday 16 October – Friday 20 October 2023

The library will be open on:

  • Monday 9 October 2023
  • Monday 23 October – Friday 27 October 2023
  • Monday 30 October – Friday 3 November 2023

RCP member benefits

We purchase clinical and CPD material including ejournals, ebooks and databases (via an RCP Athens account). To supplement our ejournal collection, articles in other journals can be sent to you by email using our document delivery service.

Support for RCP course students

The library provides a range of material on clinical teaching and education theory to support doctors undertaking courses at the RCP.

Public access to historical collections

The unique historical collections in our library and archive include items from as early as the 14th century. They reflect the history of the RCP, and the needs and the interests of physicians over our 500 years of history. Physical items may be viewed in an invigilated research area, you will need to book a research appointment.