Professor Jane Dacre is elected president of the Royal College of Physicians

Professor Jane Dacre was elected president of the Royal College of Physicians today, by single transferable vote from a field of 10 candidates, in a ballot organised by Electoral Reform Services. The result was announced at the end of College Day, the day of the RCP’s Annual General Meeting. Professor Dacre won by 281 votes from the next nearest candidate and becomes the third female president in the RCP’s history.

In total there were 4,933 valid votes, and following nine voting transfers Professor Dacre was elected with 1,848 votes. The number of votes cast has risen from 3,579 in 2006, through 3,707 in 2010, to 4,933 in 2014.

Professor Dacre is currently director of UCL Medical School, and a consultant physician and rheumatologist at the Whittington Hospital in North London. Until recently she was Medical Director of the MRCP(UK) – the membership examination of the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians of the UK. Previous posts include Vice Dean and Director of Medical Education, UCL, between 2007 and 2010 and Professor of Medical Education at UCL.

Professor Dacre was included on the inaugural Health Service Journal (HSJ) list of 50 inspirational women in Healthcare in 2013, and won the Women in the City Woman of Achievement Award in Medicine and Healthcare 2012.

On being elected, Professor Dacre said:

I am honoured to have been elected as President of the Royal College of Physicians today. I look forward to the challenges ahead, and to helping physicians to have a stronger voice in the NHS.

Sir Richard Thompson, current RCP president, said:

I congratulate Jane on being elected to the presidency and hope that she enjoys her term of office as much as I have over the past 4 years.


For more information, please contact Linda Cuthbertson, head of PR, on 0203 075 1254 / 0774 877 7919, or email

Notes to editors

  • RCP presidents are elected with the expectation that they will serve for 4 years. The 10 candidates were:
    • William Arthur Burr
    • Patrick John Cadigan
    • Jane Elizabeth Dacre
    • Timothy Evans
    • Ilora Gillian Finlay
    • Linda Maitland Luxon
    • Linda Joyce Patterson
    • Michael David Rawlins
    • Anthony Peter Weetman
    • Peter Thomas Wilmshurst