Home » News » Shortlist announced for RCP Excellence in Patient Care Awards 2019

Shortlist announced for RCP Excellence in Patient Care Awards 2019

The RCP has announced the shortlist for the 2019 Excellence in Patient Care Awards. The awards were launched in 2015 to promote and reward the impressive work that physicians are doing around the world to improve patient care, through education, innovation, research and clinical practice.

The RCP would like to thank every individual and team who took the time to enter the awards or to nominate a colleague. After much consideration, the judging panel has decided on the following shortlist across the eight categories.

The winners will be announced and presented with their prize during a dedicated awards ceremony held in the Dorchester Library at the RCP London building on the evening of 22 May 2019.


Awarded for an innovative use of new or existing technologies and/or processes that have contributed to significant improvements in patient care or health outcomes.

  • E-handover team; Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust – E-handover: a new electronic handover system for sharing of medical information between health professionals
  • The intelligent liver function testing (iLFT) team; NHS Tayside – The intelligent liver function testing (iLFT) pathway
  • North East Lincolnshire community cardiology team; Weelsby View Medical Centre – Setting up and embedding a community cardiology service across a CCG footprint
  • Perfect patient pathway NHS England test bed team; Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust – Perfect patient pathway NHS England test bed.


Awarded for contributing to significant improvements in patient care and health outcomes in a particular country or region that is outside the UK.

  • The Gloucestershire retinal education group (GREG); Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust – Quality improvement in detection and treatment of sight-threatening diabetic retinopathy in low and middle-income countries
  • Professor Karim Manji; Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences – Zinc therapeutic dose trial
  • The national committee for the control of viral hepatitis (NCCVH); National Liver Institute, Egypt – A model for curing millions from hepatitis C with limited resources
  • PD BUDDy; Logan Hospital – PD BUDDy: using smartphone technology to improve patient care.

The Lancet research award

Awarded for original research that has contributed to, or has the potential to contribute to, significant improvements in health outcomes or the quality of patient care.

  • Aberrant intron retention in ALS (AIRiALS) team; National Hospital for Neurology, Queen Square and The Francis Crick Institute – Aberrant intron retention as a new mechanism for the nuclear loss of splicing factors in ALS
  • Bristol pleural research team; Southmead Hospital – The IPC-Plus trial – outpatient pleurodesis for malignant effusions
  • Hospital-wide comprehensive geriatric assessment (HoW-CGA) research team; University of Leicester – Development and validation of a hospital frailty risk score (HFRS) focusing on older people in acute care settings using hospital episode statistics
  • Sycamore trial team; University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust – Adalimumab plus methotrexate for uveitis in juvenile idiopathic arthritis.

Medical education and training

Awarded for development of medical education and training programmes, services or structures that have improved the quality of patient care delivered, whether on a local or wider scale.

  • Distance learning clinical neurology team; UCL/ION Queen Square – A course empowering doctors both in the UK and worldwide with education in the important field of clinical neurology
  • The imported fever service national clinical teleconference team; Rare and Imported Pathogens Laboratory  – The imported fever service national clinical teleconference
  • The Royal Liverpool University Hospital simulation-based preceptorship; Royal Liverpool University Hospital – A simulation based preceptorship for patients with rare and life threatening disease: working together with regional treatment centres to improve patient outcomes nationally
  • UCLMS Schwartz round implementation team Dr Faye Gishen, Professor Deborah Gill, Dr Michael Zervos; UCL Medical School and Royal Free London – Discussing the emotional impact of becoming a doctor: using reflective practice Schwartz rounds for medical students.

Person-centred care

Awarded for placing patients’ needs, views and involvement at their heart, demonstrating a truly person-centred approach to improving care.

  • Cardiology and ambulatory emergency care teams; West Middlesex University Hospital, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Trust – Developing a patient-centred pathway for patients diagnosed with atrial fibrillation (AF), both in primary care and in a busy district general hospital
  • Macmillan end-of-life team; Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Foundation Trust – Macmillan end of life project
  • Senior adult medical services (SAMS); Ashford and St Peter's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (ASPH) – What matters to you: a patient, family and staff focused model of care
  • The UCL complex hypertension service team; UCL Centre for Nephrology, Royal Free Hospital – The UCL complex hypertension service.

Quality improvement

Awarded for implementing systematic change in order to achieve a measurable improvement in the quality of healthcare services, patient care or health outcomes.

  • Basildon Hospital liver unit; Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals – BLUCHIP: improving liver services in the community
  • 'Be the change' team; Ashford and St Peter's NHS Foundation Trust (ASPH) – creating and sustaining the will for quality improvement (QI) and patient safety from the bottom up
  • Sherwood Forest Hospitals acute non-invasive ventilation (NIV) team; Sherwood Forest Hospitals – Acute non-invasive ventilation (NIV), a journey to outstanding care
  • TalkCPR awareness campaign team; NHS Wales – TalkCPR awareness campaign, a quality improvement project.

Contribution to the profession – consultant

Awarded to an RCP member or fellow who has demonstrated excellence in their professional life over a significant part of their career.

  • Dr Gul Bano – Consultant endocrinologist
  • Dr Mohammed Sahadulla – Chairman and managing director of Kerala Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Professor Nick Maskell – Professor of respiratory medicine
  • Dr Parijat De – Consultant in diabetes and endocrinology

Contribution to the profession – trainee or SAS doctor

Awarded to an RCP member at any stage of their medical training who has demonstrated excellence in their professional life so far.

  • Dr Adrian Li – Specialist registrar
  • Dr Amer Jafar – Associate specialist
  • Dr Anna Olsson-brown – Clinical research fellow
  • Dr Joanna Lawson – Associate specialist